Pattaya One News
Home » One-Eyed UFC Fighter Wins by KO Amid Controversy
Martial Arts Sport Sport World

One-Eyed UFC Fighter Wins by KO Amid Controversy

One-Eyed UFC Fighter Wins Amid Controversy at UFC Saudi

Sharaputdin Magomedov secured a dramatic third-round knockout victory over Antonio Trocoli at UFC Saudi Arabia on Saturday. Despite the triumph, the bout was marred by a controversial foul in the second round.

During Trocoli’s takedown attempt, Magomedov grabbed the fence to prevent himself from being taken down, a blatant foul that went unpunished. Referee Marc Goddard opted for a stern warning instead of a point deduction, drawing sharp criticism from UFC commentators Michael Bisping, Daniel Cormier, and Jon Anik.

“He grabbed the fence,” Bisping exclaimed, followed by Anik’s comment, “That was a blatant fence grab.” Cormier added, “That’s one you take a point away from straight away.” Anik further criticized, “Either give a takedown or you take a point, but inconsistency with elite referees tonight in terms of how they handle that exact situation.”

The unpenalized foul proved costly for Trocoli, who exhausted himself attempting to secure the takedown. In the third round, Magomedov capitalized, landing a knee and a right hand that rocked Trocoli before finishing him with a left hook.

This victory marks Magomedov’s second UFC win since signing with the promotion in 2023. The 30-year-old middleweight, who is blind in his right eye due to an injury sustained in 2016, boasts a perfect 13-0 professional record. His journey in the sport has been marked by incredible resilience, having undergone eight surgeries on his eye.

Magomedov has described the eye surgeries as ‘torture,’ recalling, “There were such operations when an injection in the eye had to be made, where it was removed, one might say. At this time, local anesthesia is administered, but you feel everything. They pierce it from two or three sides… I had many different stages, my eyes were tortured specifically.”

Former UFC middleweight champion Michael Bisping, who fought with one eye for several years after an injury, has also shared his experiences, including a memorable moment in 2022 when he removed his false eye live on talkSPORT.

Despite the controversy, Magomedov’s victory solidifies his rising status in the UFC, even as debates about fair play and officiating continue.

Credit: TalkSport

Related posts

Pattaya One New Thailand, your go-to source for global and local news, alongside effective business advertising opportunities, tailored to the vibrant city of Pattaya.
Translate »