Anyone who hasn’t used their Gmail account in a while might want to log in again to prevent it from being deleted, as Google says it will start removing inactive accounts in December.
Google now warns that if you haven’t used or logged into your account for at least two years, it may destroy the account and all of its contents as part of a fresh cleanse of inactive accounts that was announced in May.
For Google users, this means losing any saved notes, Google Docs, emails, images, and email addresses in addition to their email address.
But, in order to avoid having your Google account deleted, you would need to ignore “multiple notifications” alerting you to the account’s impending deletion for the first two years.
If you don’t log in occasionally, free online accounts that you no longer use but still wish to maintain may be deleted. If the account is significant, setting up a calendar reminder to log in once a year may be wise.
The amount of time that must pass between inactivity warnings and account deletion notifications. An account with X, formerly Twitter, needs you to log in at least once every thirty days, but an account with Microsoft or Google can remain dormant for up to two years.