Pattaya One News
Home » Monaco GP: Leclerc Triumphs Over Piastri to Win on Home Soil After First-Lap Crash
F1 Sport Sport World

Monaco GP: Leclerc Triumphs Over Piastri to Win on Home Soil After First-Lap Crash

Monaco GP: Leclerc Triumphs Over Piastri to Win on Home Soil After First-Lap Crash

Charles Leclerc broke his winless streak by triumphing at the Monaco Grand Prix, defeating McLaren’s Oscar Piastri in a race that began with a dramatic first-lap crash. This victory on home soil marks Leclerc’s first win since July 2022 and his first Monaco GP win, as Ferrari team-mate Carlos Sainz secured third place.

Leclerc’s Commanding Victory

Leclerc, starting from pole position, maintained his lead from the start, despite early pressure from Piastri. The Ferrari driver capitalized on the chaos of the opening lap to secure a lights-to-flag victory. Sainz finished third, with McLaren’s Lando Norris just behind in fourth.

Verstappen’s Championship Lead Narrows

Max Verstappen finished sixth, sandwiched between the Mercedes of George Russell (fifth) and Lewis Hamilton (seventh). This result reduced Verstappen’s championship lead over Leclerc to 31 points. Ferrari’s strong performance narrowed the gap with Red Bull in the constructors’ standings to 24 points after eight rounds.

First-Lap Mayhem

The race was immediately halted by a red flag following a significant crash between Kevin Magnussen, Sergio Perez, and Nico Hulkenberg at Turn One. Fortunately, all drivers emerged unscathed despite the high-speed collision.

Red Flag Strategy Shuffle

The red flag allowed teams to change tires, adhering to the regulation of using two different compounds. Ferraris and McLarens switched to hard tires, while Russell, Verstappen, and Hamilton moved to mediums. The restart saw no changes in the top 10 positions, which remained stable for the rest of the race.

Key Moments

  • Leclerc’s Start: Leclerc’s clean start and strategic pace management helped him fend off Piastri’s initial challenge.
  • Piastri’s Pursuit: Piastri made a brief attempt to overtake at Portier but couldn’t maintain pressure on Leclerc as the race progressed.
  • Sainz’s Battle: Sainz, after benefiting from the red flag, defended his position against Norris, securing his fourth podium of the year.
  • Verstappen’s Struggle: Verstappen, unable to overtake Russell, finished sixth, expressing frustration over the strategy impacted by the red flag.

Reactions from the Podium

Charles Leclerc, Ferrari – 1st:
“No words can explain that. It’s such a difficult race, especially after previous pole positions here that didn’t convert to wins. This victory means a lot, especially on home soil. My dad’s dream was for me to race and win here, so this is unbelievable.”

Oscar Piastri, McLaren – 2nd:
“Tricky race. The pace was slow at the start. I had a look before the tunnel but couldn’t find the gap. Thanks to the team for a great weekend. I’m happy with P2, it’s a good result for us.”

Carlos Sainz, Ferrari – 3rd:
“It was tight, with a bad feeling after the first lap, but getting reinstated to P3 was great. The race pace was good, but overtaking is impossible here. I’m incredibly happy for Charles winning his home Grand Prix, and sharing the podium is fantastic for the team.”

Final Thoughts

Leclerc’s win at Monaco not only ended his personal drought but also boosted Ferrari’s morale and standings. The dramatic race, marked by the first-lap crash and strategic tire changes, showcased the unpredictability and excitement of F1 racing. As the season progresses, the battle for the championship remains intense.

Monaco GP Result

1) Charles LeclercFerrari2:23:15.554
2) Oscar PiastriMcLaren+7.152
3) Carlos SainzFerrari+7.585
4) Lando NorrisMcLaren+8.650
5) George RussellMercedes+13.309
6) Max VerstappenRed Bull+13.853
7) Lewis HamiltonMercedes+14.908
8) Yuki TsunodaRB+1 lap
9) Alex AlbonWilliams+1 lap
10) Pierre GaslyAlpine+1 lap
11) Fernando AlonsoAston Martin+2 laps
12) Daniel RicciardoRB+2 laps
13) Valtteri BottasSauber+2 laps
14) Lance StrollAston Martin+2 laps
15) Logan SargeantWilliams+2 laps
16) Zhou GuanyuSauber+2 laps
17) Esteban OconAlpineDNF
18) Nico HulkenbergHaasDNF
19) Sergio PerezRed BullDNF
20) Kevin MagnussenHaasDNF

Credit: SkySports

Related posts

Pattaya One New Thailand, your go-to source for global and local news, alongside effective business advertising opportunities, tailored to the vibrant city of Pattaya.
Translate »