Pattaya One News
Home » 28 Thai provinces declared DROUGHT DISASTER ZONES

28 Thai provinces declared DROUGHT DISASTER ZONES


The Interior Ministry’s Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation has named 28 provinces as disaster areas due to drought and is mobilising agencies to provide immediate relief through measures such as digging wells, pumping water, building a tank and distributing water among residents.

Monton Sudprasert, the department’s director general, said 160 districts, home to 7,306 villages, in the 28 provinces were now facing drought.

Of the drought-hit provinces, eight are in the North, namely Chiang Rai, Phayao, Nan, Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phetchabun, Chiang Mai and Phitsanulok.

Ten in the Northeast, namely Nong Khai, Bueng Kan, Nakhon Phanom, Sakon Nakhon, Kalasin, Maha Sarakham, Nakhon Ratchasima, Buri Ram, Chaiyaphum and Si Sa Ket.

Nine drought-hit provinces are in the Central region and the East, namely Nakhon Sawan, Uthai Thani, Chai Nat, Kanchanaburi, Suphanburi, Chachoengsao, Prachinburi, Chanthaburi and Chonburi, while one is in the South, namely Songkhla.

In line with the severe water shortage, the department has been campaigning for each sector to use water economically and is urging farmers to adjust their operations in line with the situation.

People suffering from drought can call 1784 any time of the day or night for immediate assistance.

error: If you would like to use this content, please contact us [email protected]